Quiz of the Month – December 2012

If someone asks you to identify the source of a familiar quote, the odds are in your favor if you attribute the quote either to Shakespeare or the Bible.  This month’s quiz is made up of quotes from both, but beware because I have thrown in a few ringers that sound like something from Shakespeare or the Bible, but come from entirely different sources.  You can find the answers here.  Good luck!

  1. “This above all, to thine own self be true.”
  2. “How the mighty have fallen.”
  3. “The quality of mercy is not strain’d, it droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven upon the place beneath. It is twice blest: it blesseth him that gives and him that takes.”
  4. “Oh, beware, my lord, of jealousy!  It is the green-eyed monster which doth mock the meat it feeds on.”
  5. “Judge not, lest ye be judged.”
  6. “God helps those who help themselves.”
  7. “The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.”
  8. “For he today who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother.”
  9. “I charge thee, fling away ambition: by that sin fell the angels.”
  10. “The devil can cite Scripture for his purpose.”
  11. “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy . . .”
  12. “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.”
  13. “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”
  14. “My righteousness I hold fast, and will not let it go: my heart shall not reproach me so long as I live.”
  15. “This, too, shall pass”
  16. “God moves in a mysterious way, His wonders to perform.”
  17. “Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.”
  18. “Spare the rod and spoil the child.”
  19. “Have more than thou showest, speak less than thou knowest, lend less than thou owest.”
  20. “I had most need of blessing, and ‘Amen’ stuck in my throat.”
  21. “Heav’n has no rage, like love to hatred turn’d, nor Hell a fury, like a woman scorn’d.”
  22. “Forbear to judge, for we are sinners all.”
  23. “God hath given you one face, and you make yourselves another.”
  24. “Few love to hear the sins they love to act.”
  25. “Be what you would seem to be . . .”
This entry was posted in Books, Quizzes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

