Quotes of Note

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.’ ” – Erma Bombeck

“Anyone who hopes that in time it may be possible to abolish war should give serious thought to the problem of satisfying harmlessly the instinct that we inherit from long generations of savages.  For my part I find a sufficient outlet in detective stories where I alternately identify myself with the murderer and the huntsman-detective.” – Bertrand Russell

“There is only one situation I can think of in which men and women make an effort to read better than they usually do.  When they are in love and reading a love letter, they read for all they are worth.  They read every word three ways; they read between the lines and in the margins . . . They may even take the punctuation into account.  Then, if never before or after, they read.” – Mortimer J. Adler

“Serendipity is looking in a haystack for a needle and discovering a farmer’s daughter.” – Julius Comroe, Jr.

“I read about an Eskimo hunter who asked the local missionary priest, “If I did not know about God and sin, would I go to hell?”  “No,” said the priest, “not if you did not know.”  “Then why,” asked the Eskimo earnestly, “did you tell me?” – Annie Dillard, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

“Nostalgia is like a grammar lesson: you find the present tense and the past perfect.” – The United Church Observer.

“Nobody has ever measured, even the poets, how much a heart can hold.” – Zelda Fitzgerald

“Never judge a book by its movie.” – J. W. Eagan

“A scolding woman was said to give her husband ‘a dish of tongues,’ and the old Sussex bachelor often gave crisp reasons for staying single: One went on record as saying, ‘Messel, I ain’t no marryin’ man, fer I can’t see naun in givin’ ‘arf [half] yer grub away ter get t’other arf cooked.  I does me own.’ ” – Bel Bailey, “Sussex Speak” in Verbatim [a book containing article from Verbatim magazine]

This entry was posted in Books, Quotes of Note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

