Quotes of Note

“What I regret most in my life are failures of kindness. Those moments when another human being was there, in front of me, suffering, and I responded…sensibly.  Reservedly.  Mildly.” – George Saunders, author

“Disney, of course, has the best casting.  If he doesn’t like an actor, he just tears him up.” – Alfred Hitchcock

“Coleridge was a drug addict.  Poe was an alcoholic.  Marlowe was killed by a man whom he was treacherously trying to stab.  Pope took money to keep a woman’s name out of a satire, then wrote the piece so that she could still be recognized anyhow.  Chatterton killed himself.  Byron was accused of incest.  Do you still want to be a writer?  And if so, why?” – Bennett Cerf

“I will keep working until about five years after I die.  I’ve given my board of directors a Ouija board so they can keep in touch.  I also have a letter that will go out and tell what the plans of the company are.  It starts out, ‘Yesterday I died.’  I just hope the stock doesn’t go up too much that day.” – Warren Buffett as quoted in AARP Magazine (August/September 2013)

“I know a woman who compared writing a novel to knitting an argyle sock the size of a football field.  I think that is very apt.  It’s just such a struggle to shape it all up.  And then it’s published and I worry about it making its way in the world.  And then I worry about getting another idea.  It’s always something.” – Sue Miller

“It was Christmas Eve and I had a severe gallbladder attack.  I had to take a cab to the [hospital], got out, and fell into the gutter.  There I was, lying there, thinking, ‘Here I am a published writer, and I am dying like a dog.’  That’s when I decided I would be rich and famous.” – Mario Puzo in Time magazine (March 13, 1971)

_ _ _

Here are some things I have been told over the years about the way we are by some very wise people:

“You can’t push a string.”

“Any married man who really believes that his home is his castle is a fool.”

“We are all basically selfish, so in marriage do about 90% of what you think is your fair share, and you may be doing your half.”

“Our grandchildren are our reward for not killing our children.”

One day back when I was still working I called a contractor and said, “Francis, we’ve got a problem.”  No, Gerald,” he quickly replied, “we’ve got an opportunity.”

This entry was posted in Books, Quotes of Note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

