Quotes of Note

In my last post I wrote about The Great American Bathroom Book.  All of this month’s quotes are taken from those included in Volume III.

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.” – Antoine de Saint-Exupery

“It is sometimes necessary to step backward in order to go forward.” – French Saying

“News is the first draft of history.” Benjamin Bradlee

“Of course everything has been said that needs to be said—but since no one was listening it has to be said again.” – Author Unknown

“Always be sure you’re right, then go ahead.” – Davey Crocket (Can you old timers visualize Fess Parker saying that on Disney’s old Davey Crocket series?)

“If I’m such a legend, why am I so lonely?” – Judy Garland

“A fool may be known by six things: anger without cause; speech without profit; change without progress; inquiry without object; putting trust in a stranger and mistaking foes for friends.” – Arab Proverb

“A single conversation across the table with a wise man is worth a month’s study of books.” – Chinese Proverb

“Henry James was one of the nicest old ladies I ever met.” – William Faulkner

“Don’t say you don’t have enough time.  You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Pasteur, Michelangelo, Mother Teresa, Helen Keller, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson and Albert Einstein.” – H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

“I want my data back, scumbag, and I want it back now!” – Secretary overheard conversing with her computer

“Common sense is not common.” – Will Rogers

“I feel safer on a racetrack than I do on Houston expressways.” – Former Racecar Driver A. J. Foyt

“Age is a question of mind over matter.  If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.” – Satchel Page

“My wife and I were happy for twenty years.  Then we met.” – Rodney Dangerfield

“Few people blame themselves until they have exhausted all other possibilities.” – Francis Duffy

“A statesman is a politician who’s been dead for ten or fifteen years.” – Harry S. Truman

“Too bad that all the people who know how to run the country are busy driving taxi cabs and cutting hair.” – George Burns

“Advice to speakers: If you don’t strike oil in twenty minutes stop boring.” – Adam S. Bennion

“Science has not yet found a cure for the pun.” – Robert Byrne

This entry was posted in Books, Quotes of Note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment