Quotes of Note

“Do one thing every day that scares you.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

“All modern men are descended from wormlike creatures, but it shows more on some people.” – Will Cuppy

“Frankly, Wonder Woman is psychological propaganda for the new type of woman who should, I believe, rule the world.” – William Moulton Marston, psychology professor, inventor, and creator of Wonder Woman (in 1941)

“Clutter is the disease of American writing. We are a society strangling in unnecessary words, circular constructions, pompous frills, and meaningless jargon.” – Author and writing teacher William Zinsser

“My parents always felt that anyone doing homework or practicing a musical instrument was granted dispensation from other things. So as you can imagine, we were all good students and loved playing music!” – Poet Joyce Sutphen recalling her childhood on a small farm

“I never ask a man what his business is, for it never interests me. What I ask him about are his thoughts and dreams.” – H. P. Lovecraft

“I thought I was a ruminator [one who ponders].  I thought I was a student.  I thought I was a teacher.  And then I discovered that I liked to tell stories and make people cry.” – Susan Sontag

“A writer out of loneliness is trying to communicate like a distant star sending signals. He isn’t telling or teaching or ordering. Rather he seeks to establish a relationship of meaning, of feeling, of observing. We are lonesome animals. We spend all life trying to be less lonesome.” – John Steinbeck

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” – John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Unless the Dirty Tricks Department, which is always very active, gets to me, and makes my final years, months, days on Earth a hell of pain and undignified suffering, I shall regret my departure from life. On his deathbed, Goethe’s last words are said to have been, “More light, more light.” Gertrude Stein, on hers, asked, “What is the answer?” and when no one replied, laughed and asked, “Then what is the question?” I don’t have a final draft of my own deathbed words, but I do have a theme, which is unembarrassed thanksgiving. – Joseph Epstein, from “Death Takes No Holiday” in Commentary magazine

“Ninety-eight percent of the adults in this country are decent, hard-working, honest Americans.  It’s the other lousy two percent that get all the publicity.  But then—we elected them.” – Lily Tomlin

This entry was posted in Books, Quotes of Note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

