Music on the Sunny Side

I have been a part of public radio here in Baton Rouge, LA since January 1980.  I have done pops programs, opera, Broadway and movie music during that time, but now I participate in a show that features big band and popular music from the 1930s through the 1960s.  Dr. Fritz McCameron, a retired professor from LSU, hosts the show, which is called “Music on the Sunny Side,” Sunday mornings from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. central time except for the first Sunday of each month.  That’s when I do my thing.

WBRH-FM, the Baton Rouge Magnet High School radio station that hosts the show, recently began streaming over the internet so I want to personally invite you to listen this Sunday and every Sunday to our mix of music – a mix that few stations anywhere else provide.  To listen to the broadcast live go to wbrh.org, click on the menu at the top right corner of the screen (the process may vary according to the device you use to access the website) , and choose WBRH.

This Sunday I’ll feature music by many of the greatest big bands including those of Tommy and Jimmy Dorsey, Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton, Duke Ellington, and Stan Kenton.  We will also hear some of the great vocalists from the past including Frankie Laine, Mildred Bailey Patti Page, Helen Ward, Judy Garland and Fred Astaire.  In addition, I’ll feature music from several movie soundtracks.

I’ll also have two special features that I think you’ll enjoy.  During the second hour I’ll take you back to a time when there was no TV – a time when people sat by their radios each night and listened to the great bands broadcasting live from various hotels and ballrooms.  This time we’ll listen to Glenn Miller and his orchestra.

During the third hour we’ll play a game called “Name That Year.”  I’ll give you information on the interesting things that happened during the mystery year (including notable births and deaths, world events, and innovations), and I’ll play musical selections that were popular at the time.  At the end of the segment I’ll name the year.  It’s a fun segment, so don’t miss it.  If you solve the mystery before the end of the segment (or think you have), you are welcome to call the station (225-388-9030) to confirm your guess.  Fritz and I love to hear from our listeners.

Take time to check out all the weekend programming on WBRH and on our sister station KBRH.  I think you’ll find it unique and very entertaining.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

