Quotes of Note

“They would ask me what actors I saw in the roles.  I would tell them, and they’d say ‘Oh that’s interesting.’ And that would be the end of it.” – Elmore Leonard on his experience with movie makers planning to adapt his novels for the big screen

“I drink to make other people more interesting.” – Ernest Hemingway

“Got no checkbooks, got no banks, Still I’d like to express my thanks – I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night.” – Irving Berlin, Annie Get Your Gun

“The very desire for guarantees that our values are eternal and secure in some objective heaven is perhaps only a craving for the certainties of childhood or the absolute values of our primitive past.” – Isaiah Berlin

“Art is man’s constant effort to create for himself a different order of reality from that which is given to him.” – Chinua Achebe

“We must always take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.” – Elie Wiesel

“If I knew that today would be the last time I’d see you, I would hug you tight and pray the Lord be the keeper of your soul. If I knew that this would be the last time you pass through this door, I’d embrace you, kiss you, and call you back for one more. If I knew that this would be the last time I would hear your voice, I’d take hold of each word to be able to hear it over and over again. If I knew this is the last time I see you, I’d tell you I love you, and would not just assume foolishly you know it already.” – Gabriel García Márquez

“I’ve been to a lot of places and done a lot of things, but writing was always first. It’s a kind of pain I can’t do without.” – Robert Penn Warren

“The majority of husbands remind me of an orangutan trying to play the violin.” – Honoré de Balzac

This entry was posted in Books, Quotes of Note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

